All decisions of the MPO are made by the Policy Committee (PC) which is the transportation policy decision-making board comprised of eleven elected and non-elected voting members.  The Fredericksburg District Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) Representative and the Citizens Transportation Advisory Group Chairman serves as ex officio members.

The MPO is responsible for transportation planning and funding allocations in the George Washington Region and partners with the public, planning organizations, government agencies, elected officials and community groups to develop regional transportation plans.